The Wisniewski Award for Teacher Education

The Wisniewski Award is named for Richard Wisniewski, Past president and treasurer of SPE, past president of AACTE and former Dean of the College of Education at the University of Tennessee. The purpose of the award is to recognize an institution that has made “singularly significant contributions to the theory and practice of teacher education.” This award is awarded annually.

Please send nominations to: Dr. Mina Kim, Chair – – Nominations for the 2015 award must be submitted no later than January 1, 2016. To receive the award, representatives from the program must attend the annual SPE meeting.

Wisniewski Teacher Education Award
Wisniewski Teacher Education Award – Call for nominations and application

Wisniewski Award Recipients

Elementary Certification Master’s Program, Indiana University, Indiana, 2014 

National Education Policy Center, 2014

Received by James Hiebert, the Robert J. Barkley Professor at the University of Delaware School of Education on behalf of the Mathematics Education Undergraduate Program for Elementary Teachers, 2013

The National Center for Fair and Open Testing (Fair Test), Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, 2012

Graduate School of Education and Counseling, Lewis and Clark College, Portland, Oregon, 2011

College of Education and Human Services, Montclair State University, Montclair, New Jersey, 2010

Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE), University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada, 2009

Architects of Change, The John H. Lounsbury School of Education, Georgia College & State University, Milledgeville, Georgia, 2008

Jacob Hiatt Center for Urban Education at Clark University, Worcester, Massachusetts, 2007

Institute for Educational Inquiry, Seattle, Washington, 2006

Southern Maine Partnership, University of Southern Maine, 2005

Urban Teacher Education Program, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, 2004

Master in Teaching (MIT) Program, Evergreen State College, Olympia, Washington, 2003

Department of Education, Trinity University, San Antonio, Texas, 2002

Bank Street College of Education, New York, 2001

Collaborative Teacher Education Program for Urban Communities of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 2000